1945 — 1960

War, liberation and reconstruction

Construction of a wind tunnel at the wind tunnel laboratory in Meudon, 1947

© Fonds historique/CNRS Photothèque

In May 1940, the German offensive interrupted the mobilisation effort initiated seven months earlier by the CNRS.

However, this did not prevent the centre, which already hosted nearly 40 laboratories and a thousand researchers, engineers and technicians, mostly in the Paris region, from completing several impressive projects. Among them was a process developed by the young physicist Louis Néel, who went on to win a Nobel Prize in 1970, for protecting ships against German magnetic mines. His method was adopted by the British Admiralty which was preparing to continue the war.

Germans parading in Paris, June 1940

Bundesarchiv_Bild_101I-751-0067-34,_Paris,_Parade_deutscher_Soldaten

After the fall of France, the CNRS, like the entire country, suffered the torments of the Occupation.

Its staff became one of the first victims of wartime deprivation, and was severely affected by the Vichy government’s exclusion measures: the new anti-Jewish laws deprived the laboratories of researchers, engineers and technicians, who lost their livelihoods and sometimes their lives. The founders of the CNRS themselves were not spared. Jean Perrin chose exile in June 1940 and died in New York two years later. Jean Zay was imprisoned in October 1940 by Marshal Pétain’s pro-German regime, and was later savagely murdered by its militia, on June 20, 1944. The two were recently united under the dome of the Panthéon mausoleum in Paris: Perrin, who had been interred there in 1948, was joined by Zay in 2015. Today, both of the CNRS’s founding fathers have taken their place in France’s national shrine…

A Parisian street in 1941

© Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-247-0775-38 / Langhaus / CC-BY-SA 3.0

Jean Zay, Minister of Education, and Marc Rucart, Minister of Justice, 1937

© Domaine public

Jean Zay joins Jean Perrin in the Panthéon, 2015

© Wikimedia commons/Y. Caradec

After the Liberation, the CNRS was headed by scientists eager to break with the authoritarian practices of the Vichy period.

Frédéric Joliot-Curie, who presided over the CNRS from August 1944 to February 1946, and Georges Teissier, his successor until 1950, strove to involve “scientific workers” in defining the country’s scientific policy and research goals. Under the impetus of General de Gaulle, a new research organisation devoted to nuclear energy, the French Atomic Energy Commission (CEA) was founded in 1945. Along with other scientific bodies, the INRA, created in 1946 and specialising in agronomic research, expanded the scope of France’s nascent public research structure. This period also saw the formation, in 1945, of the National Committee for Scientific Research, a “parliament of science” that was to last over the decades: to this day, it plays a crucial role within the CNRS and, more generally, in the scientific life of the entire country.

Frédéric Joliot-Curie headed the CNRS from August 1944 to February 1946

© DR

Georges Teissier was head of the CNRS from 1946 to 1950

© DR

The CNRS sees steady growth.

After the immediate postwar period, during which its budgets remained limited, the CNRS began to enjoy steady growth.

Every year it opened new units, not only in the Paris region but increasingly in other parts of France as well, with research centers sprouting up in Grenoble, Marseille, Strasbourg, Toulouse…

Faithful to its missions, the CNRS helped develop activities that were not popular in universities. One example is the campus founded in 1946 in Gif-sur-Yvette, south of Paris, which played a key role from the 1950s in expanding the scope and prestige of French genetics.

The Gif-sur-Yvette campus under construction

© CNRS

The low-temperature biology laboratory, Meudon, 1959

© Fonds historique/CNRS Photothèque

The CNRS helped develop activities that were not popular in universities.

"Le phytotron" (EN)

Excerpt from "Le Phytotron", 1969, 28 min. Author: Pierre Chouard Director: Eric Duvivier Production: CNRS, Sciencefilm
→ Vidéothèque

© Archives IRHT

Jeanne
Vielliard

Historian
The first woman to head a CNRS laboratory

© CNRS

Georges
Teissier

Zoologist and geneticist
A pioneer in population genetics

© Fonds historique/CNRS Photothèque

Louis
Néel

Physicist
Winner of the Nobel Prize in 1970

© Fonds historique/CNRS Photothèque

Frédéric
Joliot-Curie

Chemist and physicist, Recipient of the Nobel Prize in 1935
"Parliament of science" champion

They headed the CNRS

1944 — 1946

Frédéric Joliot

1946 — 1950

Georges Teissier

1950 — 1957

Gaston Dupouy

1957 — 1962

Jean Coulomb

1945 — 1960

Guerre, Libération, reconstruction

Bâti d'une soufflerie en montage au laboratoire de la soufflerie à Meudon, 1947

© Fonds historique/CNRS Photothèque

En mai 1940, l’offensive allemande vient interrompre l’effort de mobilisation entrepris sept mois plus tôt par le CNRS.

L’établissement, qui compte près d’une quarantaine de laboratoires et un millier de chercheurs, ingénieurs et techniciens, surtout regroupés en région parisienne, s’est néanmoins acquitté de quelques belles réalisations. Parmi elles figure un procédé de protection des navires contre les mines magnétiques allemandes : œuvre d’un jeune physicien, Louis Néel, futur prix Nobel en 1970, la méthode est reprise par l’Amirauté anglaise qui s’apprête à poursuivre le combat.

Parade allemande à Paris, juin 1940

© Bundesarchiv

Après la débâcle, le CNRS subit, avec l’ensemble du pays, les tourments de l’Occupation.

Premières victimes de ce dénuement, ses personnels paient aussi un lourd tribut aux mesures d’exclusion dictées depuis Vichy : les lois anti-juives privent les laboratoires de chercheurs, d’ingénieurs et de techniciens frappés dans leur activité, voire dans leur existence. Les fondateurs du CNRS eux-mêmes ne sont pas épargnés. Jean Perrin, qui a choisi l’exil dès juin 1940, s’éteint deux ans plus tard à New York. Jean Zay, lui, est emprisonné en octobre 1940 par le régime du maréchal Pétain, puis sauvagement assassiné par sa milice le 20 juin 1944. Récemment, ils ont été réunis sous la coupole du Panthéon : Jean Perrin y a fait son entrée dès 1948 ; Jean Zay l’a rejoint en 2015. Les deux pères du CNRS reposent aujourd’hui dans le temple de la Nation…

Une rue parisienne en 1941

© Bundesarchiv

Jean Zay, ministre de l’éducation nationale et Marc Rucart, Garde des Sceaux 1937

© Domaine public

Jean Zay rejoint Jean Perrin au Panthéon 2015

© Wikimedia commons/Y. Caradec

À la Libération, le CNRS voit arriver à sa tête des personnalités soucieuses de rompre avec les pratiques autoritaires de la période vichyste.

Frédéric Joliot-Curie d’août 1944 à février 1946, puis son successeur Georges Teissier jusqu’en 1950, entendent associer les « travailleurs scientifiques » à la définition des enjeux de la recherche et de la politique scientifique du pays. Sous l’impulsion du général de Gaulle, l’année 1945 voit la création d’un nouvel organisme de recherche, consacré à l’énergie nucléaire, le CEA. Parmi d’autres organismes, en 1946, la création de l’Inra, dédié à la recherche agronomique, complète le paysage naissant de la recherche publique. Un « Parlement de la science » est établi en 1945, le Comité national de la recherche scientifique, une instance promise à une belle pérennité : il continue de jouer, aujourd’hui encore, un rôle essentiel au sein du CNRS et, plus largement, dans la vie scientifique de notre pays.

Frédéric Joliot-Curie, à la tête du CNRS d'août 1944 à février 1946

© DR

Georges Teissier, à la tête du CNRS de 1946 à 1950

© DR

Le CNRS connaît une croissance régulière.

Passée la période de l’immédiat après-guerre, pendant laquelle ses budgets restent contraints, le CNRS connaît une croissance régulière.

Chaque année, il crée de nouvelles formations, en Île-de-France et, de plus en plus, dans les départements – des centres de recherche prennent ainsi leur essor à Grenoble, Marseille, Strasbourg, Toulouse…

Fidèle à ses missions, il contribue au développement de domaines qui peinent à trouver leur place au sein de l’Université : un nouveau campus fondé en 1946 à Gif-sur-Yvette, au sud de Paris, joue par exemple un rôle notable dans l’épanouissement et le rayonnement de la génétique française à partir des années 1950.

Campus de Gif-sur-Yvette en construction

© CNRS

Laboratoire de biologie du froid, Meudon, 1959

© CNRS Photothèque/Fonds historique

Le CNRS participe au développement de domaines qui peinent à trouver leur place au sein de l’Université

Le phytotron

Extrait de « Le phytotron », 1969, 28mn Auteur : Pierre Chouard Réalisateur : Eric Duvivier Production : CNRS, Sciencefilm
→ Vidéothèque

© Archives IRHT

Jeanne
Vielliard

Historienne
La première femme directrice d’un laboratoire CNRS

© CNRS

Georges
Teissier

Zoologiste et généticien

Un des pionniers de la génétique des populations

© Fonds historique/CNRS Photothèque

Louis
Néel

Physicien
Prix Nobel 1970

Le « pape » du magnétisme de l’entre-deux guerres

© Fonds historique/CNRS Photothèque

Frédéric
Joliot-Curie

Chimiste et physicien
Prix Nobel de chimie en 1935

Il plaide en faveur d’un « parlement de la science »

Ils ont dirigé le CNRS

1944 — 1946

Frédéric Joliot

1946 — 1950

Georges Teissier

1950 — 1957

Gaston Dupouy

1957 — 1962

Jean Coulomb